How we are performing

NHS England is the organisation responsible for making sure that Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) deliver the best possible services for patients.

To do this, NHS England has created a new CCG improvement and assessment framework (IAF). This assesses how CCGs are doing in four areas, also known as ‘domains’. These are:

  1. Better Health: this section looks at how the CCG is contributing towards improving the health and wellbeing of its population, and bending the demand curve;
  2. Better Care: this principally focuses on care redesign, performance of constitutional standards, and outcomes, including in important clinical areas;
  3. Sustainability: this section looks at how the CCG is remaining in financial balance, and is securing good value for patients and the public from the money it spends;
  4. Leadership: this domain assesses the quality of the CCG’s leadership, the quality of its plans, how the CCG works with its partners, and the governance arrangements that the CCG has in place to ensure it acts with probity, for example in managing conflicts of interest.

In addition to the four domains, CCGs are also subject to an initial baseline assessment which will be based on our achievement in six clinical priority areas: 

  • cancer
  • dementia
  • diabetes
  • learning disabilities
  • maternity
  • mental health

North Somerset CCG assessment rating

You can view our overall performance assessment rating for 2016/17 on the My NHS website. You can also view how we are performing in each of the priority areas by using the 'performance of' drop down menu.